If you receive an email that creates concern about your online account safety, take a minute before immediately clicking the included web link that accesses your online account. That weblink could install malware on your computer, or it could be a false website solely designed to steal your account username and password.

 

Hover your mouse over the web link in this alarming email. Within two or three seconds, there should be a web address pop up. This is the actual website you are going to if you click on the link. Often, this destination website is different than what is described in your email message:

 

 

If you are concerned about your account security, launch a web browser and enter the web address yourself to access your information. Don’t be fooled by the shiny button graphic or blue weblink  included in an “important, urgent” email notification.


Also published on Medium.